Side Hustles – Part I: Make Extra Cash

Side Hustles – Part I: Make Extra Cash
Ms. No Single Mama Drama

On September 14, 2007, I closed on my house! This is the biggest accomplishment of my life, with the exception of having my most perfect blessing, my son:)

With that said, there are some expected (and some very unexpected) additional expenses that come with home ownership. For instance, as a renter, I never had to worry about hiring someone to come rake the leaves from my lawn (I know what you’re thinking…rake ’em yourself). Well, unfortunately, my house sits on half an acre and it was a foreclosure that sat empty for almost year. So, when I say there are a lot of leaves out there, please believe me! Never mind that we found a dead baby snake in my house the first night we moved in – so, I’m really not feeling the whole being snake bait in the name of cleaning my yard<yikes!!!>.

So far, I’ve gotten two quotes of $150 and $160, respectively. In addition to that, I have some plumbing issues that, while minor, are irritating as all get out. Let me tell you, having to turn the toilet switch on and off every time you go:> gets really old, really quick…lol.

Anyhow, when a single mama needs extra mullah (for whatever reason), what does she do? Well, she goes into single mama mode, of course, and gets her side hustle on (for those that don’t know, side hustle is another way of saying moonlighting or side entrepreneurial gig:).

Side Hustle of the Week:
Find the Perfect Side Hustle For You
on No Single Mama Drama radio

So far, I’ve made a little extra cash to help out with the extra expenses. But, my short-term side hustle goal is to earn (at minimum) an extra $500.00 per month, which shouldn’t be a problem. Eventually, within the next six (6) months, I hope to earn an additional $1000.00 per month.

Why not get a second job you ask? Well, simply because I refuse to. As a single mother, I feel like a barely have enough quality time with my son. I also feel like it’s important for me to be there for him and his activities. On top of that, I don’t think anyone, especially single mothers, should depend on a job for their every cent of their income.

Make extra cash with a side hustle

After all, if you think about it, a paycheck from a job is nothing more than an inflated WELFARE check. Hold on now, DON’T GET YOUR PANTIES IN A BUNCH, let me explain. When I was on welfare (yeah, I was on welfare; however, I used for what it was created to be: temporary assistance, not a way of life), I didn’t like that my welfare check determined what I could and couldn’t afford. Basically, it determined where I could live, what I could eat, what I could wear, etc. The same is true of a paycheck. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my paycheck – there’s nothing like a regular check, especially one that covers all the essentials plus some – it’s definitely a beautiful thing. However, as a single mother, sometimes or maybe most of the time, there seems like there’s never enough money. That’s why I firmly believe in the side hustle. My side hustles have kept me from starving in between jobs and have even helped me land better paying gigs because of the experience.

Read my previous Side Hustle posts:

Side Hustles: Make Extra Cash – Part II

Side Hustles: Make Extra Cash – Part III

12 thoughts on “Side Hustles – Part I: Make Extra Cash

  1. Pingback: Side Hustles Part II - Make Extra Money « Ms. No Single Mama Drama’s Blog
  2. Pingback: Side Hustle of the Week « Ms. No Single Mama Drama’s Blog
  3. Pingback: Side Hustle: Professional Organizer « Ms. No Single Mama Drama’s Blog
  4. Pingback: Freelance Writing Side Hustle « Ms. No Single Mama Drama’s Blog
  5. Pingback: Need Money? Get Crafty With Etsy! « Ms. No Single Mama Drama’s Blog
  6. I comment each time I like a post on a site or if I have something to add
    to the conversation. Usually it is triggered by the passion displayed in
    the article I looked at. And on this article Side Hustles – Part
    I: Make Extra Cash | Ms. No Single Mama Drama’s Blog. I was excited enough to drop a thought 😛 I actually do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind. Could it be only me or do a few of these responses look like they are left by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online social sites, I would like to follow you. Would you list every one of your community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

