Side Hustles Close Up: Make Extra Cash with Medical Transcription

Side Hustles Close Up: Make Extra Cash with Medical Transcription
Ms. No Single Mama Drama

Want to significantly improve the quality of life for you and your child(ren)? The single best way to change your quality of life is to increase your earning power—and that means getting new skills. As a single mother, college is not always an option.

Medical TranscriptionBefore I got pregnant with my son, I got an A.A. degree in Criminal Justice; however, after my son was born, I decided that the criminal justice field was not for me. But because I was a single mother of a new baby with medical problems, I didn’t have the time, money or support system to attend a traditional college.

What was I to do?

First, I did some research to discover if I really would enjoy Medical Transcription and to find the best program for me and my financial situation. I then enrolled in Medical Transcription training through a distance learning program, which, at the time, turned out to be the best educational decision I could have made.

After completing the program, I successfully worked 13 years as a Medical Transcriptionist in both work-at-home and in-office settings. I earned a great living (including benefits)—all from the comfort of my home, and I didn’t have to worry about baby sitters or transportation issues.

Why I wrote this post:

Since I’ve gotten a lot of responses to the Side Hustle Posts, I decided to post some information about Medical Transcription programs. Remember, some programs are less expensive than others—but don’t sacrifice quality, if you can. The quality of the program you choose will impact how well you do in your career.

Stay tuned for my review of at-home Medical Transcription Training Programs.

4 thoughts on “Side Hustles Close Up: Make Extra Cash with Medical Transcription

  1. like some more info on mt i want to do online course any recommendations i am a private caregiver for 90 year old women would like to train for this while im sitting here for twelve hours a day what about jobs online thanks for any information u provide

  2. Hi Sheri:

    Thanks for writing!

    Medical Transcription is a great career option for those that would like to indirectly play a significant role in helping patients and their physicians to manage their health-care needs. And, it is a rewarding and great-paying career that allows the ability to work from the comfort of your own home.

    I highly recommend Medical Transcription training at CareerStep. First, the quality of the education is first-rate. Second, the quality is so great that many of the top work-from-home Medical Transcription services hire CareerStep MTs–WITH NO EXPERIENCE!

    Here’s a SMALL list of MT services that hire CareerStep Grads:

    Spheris
    http://spheris.com/careers/

    MedQuist
    http://www.medquist.com/Home/SolutionsServices/tabid/56/Default.aspx

    E-Trans

    http://www.etransplus.com/careers/

    Most offer a full benefit plans, including:

    Medical
    Dental
    Vision
    Paid Time Off
    Basic Life Insurance
    Short-term Life Insurance
    Long- and Short-term Disability
    Employee Assistance Program
    401K

    Want some Medical Transcription resources? Check these out:

    MT Desk:
    http://www.mtdesk.com/frame.php?frame=main

    MT Jobs:
    http://www.mtjobs.com/

    MT Daily:
    http://www.mtdaily.com

    To learn more about CareerStep’s program, visit:

    I hope this information helps!

Leave a Reply

