Domestic Drama: Control the Clutter Already

Domestic Drama: Control the Clutter Already

Cleaning_LadyI’m a self-admitted neat and control freak. I’m not ashamed of it, either.

You see, I’m ADHD to the umpteenth power, so having structure and  order in my life helps me to manage my ADHD.

It’s funny how people who come to my home comment on how clean it is. I smile and say thank you, but inside I know it’s because of my secret.

Usually, people with ADHD are quite the opposite. They are the people at work with the messy desks; they are the friends with the junky cars; or, the best friend with the out-of-control bedroom, and don’t even think about the closet.

But I’m different, and I think it has something to do with the control freak in me.

But there are those very rare occasions, where my house does get downright messy–as a matter of fact, I’m in one right now. When I’m seriously sick, in a funk or stressed out, the last thing I care about is cleaning my house.

Now, this doesn’t happen often–it really has to be something major. Little funks or cold. No problem. Life-altering stuff, on the other hand, you wouldn’t recognize my house.

Because I’m in the midst of a major funk right now, I’m noticing that a lot of domestic drama is popping up.  I can’t find anything, so now I’m irritable and snapping at my son for no reason. I’m missing deadlines and just not getting things done, which brings out more ADHD symptoms and a whole lot of  unnecessary frustration, i.e. drama!

But all of the drama could be avoided.  All I have to do is get my tail up and clean up the clutter; then, my life would return to my normal and the problem would be solved, right?

It’s funny, too, how children follow our leads, even when it comes to cleaning the house.  If I don’t make my bed in the morning, my 16-year-old feels like he’s got a free pass not to make his. It’s that whole mirroring thing. Plus, my son’s a smarty.  He knows I’m not the kind of person to talk about your front yard when my backyard ain’t together, so he thinks he can get away with it.  Today, however, I woke up and his room was spotless–of course, he had an ulterior motive: He wanted to go to a BBQ with his friends.

Still, it made me aware of how out-of-control the house has gotten. Mind you, most people wouldn’t even say it’s all that bad. It doesn’t look like I’m a hoarder or anything, but that’s my point.  If it’s out-of-control for you and its causing issues in other areas of your life, like your relationships, it’s a problem, especially if it causes drama.

Sometimes we create our own drama. We need to recognize our own drama for what it is and realize that we are the only ones that has the solution–and, sometimes, that solutions is as simple as cleaning up the clutter already!

Need help with controlling the clutter–and domestic drama– in your life? Here’s a blog that can help.

Little Ms. Efficiency shows you how to organize everything from that junk drawer, to your garage, to your office.  She even writes about organization gadgets that help you control the clutter, like getting computer cords under control–finally.

Is your clutter and life out of control?
Have you seen the new A&E show, Hoarders? These people have serious issues in their life that manifests as out-of-control clutter. So much so, that their living spaces are truly not fit for humans to live in.  Watch an episode.

As always, here are some five-star recommended reading:

Clutter, Chaos and the Cure – Rosemary Chieppo and Ernie Conte ($9.95)

The Clutter Diet: The Skinny on Organizing Your Home and Taking Control of Your LifeLorie Morerro ($12.21)

Clutter Busting: Letting Go of What Is Holding You BackBrooks Palmer ($16.11)

Keep it real, keep it moving and keep it drama free.

Ms. No Single Mama Drama

Leave a Reply

