Side Hustles: Five You Can Start Today for $100 or Less

Side Hustles: Five You Can Start Today for $100 or Less

Ms. No Single Mama Drama

As a single mom, money–or lack thereof–is probably top of mind most of the time, right?

Which, of course, was the cause of most of my single mama drama.

Well, you’re not alone. As I’ve stated in my previous side hustle posts, money was a challenge for me, too.

Until I did one thing: I changed the way I think about money.

When I was in constant lack, I always spoke of money in terms of not having.

Recommended Reading:
The Total Money Makeover:
A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness

And, guess what? I never had any.

I was always saying, jokingly, to myself and to everyone that I didn’t have enough money to even buy my son diapers.

One day, that came true.

Recommended Reading:
You’re Broke Because You Want to Be:
How to Stop Getting By and Start Getting Ahead

Dead broke, I had absolutely no money to buy my son’s most basic essentials. I felt like the worse mother on earth.

I didn’t even have enough to buy my son a pack of 4 diapers for $1.00.

Desperate, I took to scrounging around for loose change. After a couple of hours, I managed to scrape up a measly $0.68.

With nothing left but pride, I walked to the corner store, son clipped on my hip.

I picked up the diapers and took what felt like the longest walk of my life.

As I placed the diapers on the counter–knowing I was $0.32 short–I gave the guy at the counter every thing I had.

Gruffly he said, “It’s not enough.”

With my head hung low, not daring to meet his eyes with mine, I said, “I know, but I really need the diapers.”

Seeing the embarrassment plastered on my face, in his thick Moroccan accent, he said, “you good customer, get more. You pay later.”

At that moment, I could have cried and knew that no matter what, if I put the needs of my child first, God would provide. And that there are good people, who see the good in you and are willing to help meet your needs, even when you can’t.

The other thing that I learned is that God rewards action. You can’t just sit around, ask for a blessing and wait for it to come knocking on your door.  After all, “faith without works is dead.”

Had I not taken action first by scrounging around for loose change and then walking to the store, I would not have received my blessing–the blessing that God was waiting to reward me with.

Since then, however, I have learned the power of positive thinking and claiming the things that I want in life–and, for the most part, I now get almost everything I want and everything I need.

You must watch this video – very, very creative and catchy – it will help you.


Make no mistake about it, though. You do have to work for anything you want, but you and you alone, have the power to change anything in your life–especially your financial situation.

If I did it, you can do it, too.

Nobody knows how hard it is to be a single mother more than I do. And that’s why I want to help you.

So, to help get you started, here are five side hustles that you can start today for $100 or less – news to a single mother’s ears, I’m sure:-)

(1) Garage Cleaning and Organizing
If you’re great at organizing, why not put those skills to work for you? Place ads in your local paper and/or hand out fliers and business cards to get the word out. Remember to take before and after pictures of each job, so you can build a portfolio to show to future potential customers.

Recommended Reading:
Organize Your Garage In No Time

To generate more business, tell your customers that they can earn a referral fee to recommend your garage cleaning service to their friends, family and co-works–who doesn’t like easy money?

(2) Meal Delivery Service:
People are lazy! So, why not make money off of other people’s laziness? For restaurants that don’t deliver, you could set up an arrangement to deliver their meals for their customers, a total win-win situation for you, the restaurant and the customers.

Recommended Reading:
How To Start And Operate A Meal Delivery Service

(3) Personal Chef
People who don’t have time, skills or the capability of making their own meals will pay you to deliver a hot, home-cooked meals. From single executives to the elderly, almost anyone could use this service. Want to change higher rates? Well, specialize in special diets, like diabetic menus, or sugar-free or gluten-free treats. See how you can specialize and set yourself apart from the competition?

Recommended Reading:
How to Start a Home-Based Personal Chef Business
(Home-Based Business Series)

(4) Holiday Decorating
Many people would love to decorate their homes during the holidays, but don’t know how or have physical limitations that prevent them from doing the work themselves. If you love the holidays and love to decorate, why not combine your two passions? Start with residential clients, build a portfolio, complete with before and after pictures and move on to commercial clients, where you can charge higher fees.

Recommended Reading:
Holiday Decorations For Fun & Profit

(5) Information Broker
Got inside information that’s hard to find? Well, why not compile this information into a book, eBook, blog, or membership Web site. People who are desperately seeking hard-to-find information will gladly pay you – an information broker – for this valuable information, especially if it saves them time, money and frustration.

Recommended Reading:
Start Your Own Information Broker Service:
Business (Start Your Own Business)

If you want change your financial circumstance, you can. It all starts with a thought and your actions.

No one can improve your life but you. If you’re willing to do the work, you can transform your life into the life that you’ve dreamed about and the life that you and your children deserve.

God is waiting to bless you. Are you just going to stand there?

23 thoughts on “Side Hustles: Five You Can Start Today for $100 or Less

  1. (Applause!)Wonderfully written and true for anyone, single or not!!! We should all use our God-given talents and passions to get wealth. This is truly a spiritual principle, Proverbs 18:16 says “A man’s gift maketh room for him, and bringeth him before great men,” this leaves no room for excuses.

  2. Hi Sonja!

    Thank you – you are exactly right! It took me a while to learn the power of the Word, but when I finally did, it is amazing to see it work in my life and I want every single mother – and everyone else – to realize that God will do it for them, too!

    All they have to do is receive, believe and achieve!

    God bless you!

  3. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Battered Mothers Rights – A Human Rights Issue
  4. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Battered Mothers Rights – A Human Rights Issue
  5. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Battered Mothers Rights – A Human Rights Issue
  6. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Crisis in the Family Courts; Our Children are at Risk~!
  7. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Crisis in the Family Courts; Our Children are at Risk~!
  8. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Crisis in the Family Courts; Our Children are at Risk~!
  9. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « "I will not SHUT UP or give up and I WON'T go away!!"
  10. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « "I will not SHUT UP or give up and I WON'T go away!!"
  11. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « "I will not SHUT UP or give up and I WON'T go away!!"
  12. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « KS-Family Court Reform Coalition
  13. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « KS-Family Court Reform Coalition
  14. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « KS-Family Court Reform Coalition
  15. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Whos Killing Families?
  16. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Whos Killing Families?
  17. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Silent No More!
  18. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Whos Killing Families?
  19. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Silent No More!
  20. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Silent No More!
  21. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Kansas Court Corruption Exposed
  22. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Kansas Court Corruption Exposed
  23. Pingback: Fathers Who Kill to Avoid Child Support Payments « Kansas Court Corruption Exposed

Leave a Reply

